Recommendations

2016 Reviews and Testimonials - The Latest Buzz!

Reviews Reviews!

 

5.0 star rating

 

 

 

 

 

 

10/30/16

Superb human being and drum inspiring. I will refer potential drum students.

C.O.

Nahant, Massachusetts

 

4/28/2016   5.0 stars!

Love DrumConnection in Arlington!

Great teachers including the Masters from West Africa; great drums (all kinds) and accessories. Director and owner, Alan, is an excellent drummer himself, friends to all and always willing to share his knowledge. Classes & Workshops at all levels challenging and tons of fun. Serious drumming going on here!

M. S.

Brighton, MA

 

4/27/2016   5.0 stars!

Knowledgeable, and very helpful.

I watched Alan help a gentleman trying to rent an accordion.  Yes, this sounds like a Seinfeld script, but it was touching seeing Alan help someone out.  Additionally, the store is well supplied, and the prices are quote reasonable for being able to get your hands on what you need right now.  Truly, an asset to the community!

Brian C. J.

Arlington, MA

 

April 9, 2016, 1:47 p.m.

Great drum....

Friends cannot believe how light it is and how good it sounds. Easy for me to carry. It is also very nice looking, not ornate, just beautiful wooden swirls. Thanks for all your help on this..... kdl

KD

 

4/10/16 ; 5 Stars

I have spent several wonderful weekends at DrumConnection studying drumming rhythms with various master drummers (djembefolas) and I just want to thank Alan and the wonderful community of people I met at there for a wonderful, fun,  inspiring and informative time. If I didn't live on Long Island, NY I would be there every week. 5 star rating from me!

Rosie

Long Island, NY

 

2/24/2016 : 5 Stars!

Excellent customer service

The Drum Connection is a wonderful place. Alan is so helpful, thoughtful and kind. The store has a great selection of drums that will help you connect to music from all over the world. Highly recommended!

R. C.

Boston, MA

 

Jan. 16, 2016 : 5 Stars!

No Pressure

Great experience, no pressure to buy or spend more than I wanted to, just the perfect assistance to help me find the right drum for me - a clear joy for drumming and very welcoming - made me feel right at home.

J. Morley 

 

12/22/2015 : 5 Stars!

A great little store

I was looking for some nifty percussion accessories for my son-in-law and I really didn't want to go the the Guitar Center. What a great place! I got great advice & was able to find exactly the kind of stuff I was looking for! A perfect shopping trip & well worth the trip down from Cape Ann!

L. Carsman 

Cape Ann, MA

 

5.0 star rating 12/6/2015 Yelp!

I took a beginner drum class here this fall. I was impressed by the business's connection to West African drumming. Thierno, a drummer from Guinea, was our teacher. If you want to learn drumming, have a weekly class with lots of laughing and meet people from around the world this place is for you.

S K.

Cambridge, MA 

 

5.0 Star Rating 12/4/15 Google+

Alan the owner is always friendly and helpful. When I was looking for a drum, he chose 4 drums he thought I might like, each unique. He helped me sort out the differences to find the combination of pluses that added up to the perfect drum for me.

Alan the teacher is a non-judgmental, supportive, and clear instructor whose decades of experience and amazing skill as a drummer combine to provide a safe and inspiring learning environment. I've studied with four other DrumConnection instructors and each is excellent in his or her own ways, and all certified by examination.

A great store and a wonderful school. I recommend it without reservations.

C. 

 

11/15/2015 5.0 Yelp!

The beginner drum class was extra special. Taught by Thierno Keita-what a wonderful escape each week from the work-a-day world into a world of rhythm and movement. Great for the brain and the soul. Alan Tauber, who runs the Drum Connection could not be kinder or more devoted to his art. This has been a postive turn for me and I will continue on this road with pleasure.

 

5.0 star rating 11/11/2015

DrumConnection is an nook of musical magic on Mass Ave in Arlington. The drumming teachers are from Africa, they sponsor workshops and trips to Africa to learn drumming. Alan the owner is very flexible and understanding with scheduling lessons. The drum selection is fantastic!! I recommend it to everyone I know. What a gem!

M. Thompson

 

5.0 star rating 11/9/2015 Yelp!

Broad selection of percussion instruments from all over the world. Alan, the owner, really knows a lot about the instruments and the music they make.

Lane D.

Kingston, MA

 

5.0 star rating 11/7/2015 Yelp!

We have purchased many instruments from Alan.  He knows so much about percussion instruments that we trust him with ordering sight unseen and have been pleased with our purchases.  Prices are very reasonable.  We drive 2 hours each way to shop at the Drum Connection and it is worth it.

Sandra T.

Mashpee, MA

 

5.0 star rating 11/6/2015 Yelp!

You will not find a more beautiful person than Alan to assit you with your journey of learning the drums.   I have traveled with Alan to Guinea, purchased various drums, and attended numerous classes.  Have not been able to find the joy I felt when I was involved with the Drum Connection.   Please open a southern location!

Cheryl S.

Estero, FL

 

5.0 star rating 10/5/2015 Yelp! 

The drum I purchased from Alan several years ago is both beautiful and is a joy to use. The classes are fantastic -- designed for all skills levels and taught by master teachers that are knowledgeable and exciting.

 

They are patient and know how to break rhythms down to bite size. I have enrolled my 4 year old in the children's drum class and it is dynamic -- teaching movement and African songs. She loves it and loves her teachers."

Louis K.

Arlington, MA

 

5.0 star rating 10/19/2015  Yelp! 

Purchased my djembe here a few years ago, just bought new skin, Alan and staff always knowledgeable and helpful. The best! Thanks!

Paul W.

Swampscott, MA

 

5.0 star rating 8/29/2015 Yelp!

I am new to drumming and am having a ball. I went to a Sunday night lecture and lesson on one type of drums and followed that with 2 Sunday night drumming circles with an excellent teacher-but not at the rank beginner level. Still, I loved it and just tried to follow and keep up.

 

Now I am in a beginner class and I am still enjoying every minute. Alan is a kind and welcoming person. He coordinates to bring in a variety of excellent teachers and classes take place most every day of the week. He gives great advice about what to purchase and has rentals available. Come join the fun!

C.S.

Lexington, MA

 

5.0 star rating 8/24/2015 Yelp!

This is a great little shop.  Alan was able to rent me some drums for my autism caregivers retreat and was very accommodating.  The drums were gorgeous, beautiful sound.  Our group had a great time thanks to Drum Connection coming through at the last minute for me.  Thank you!

Tami D.

Corona, CA

 

June 25, 2015

5.0 star rating Excellent Teaching!

This is the first time I took drum lessons. I have taken piano lessons off and on for years. I really enjoy playing the drums. I had two teachers. They both had their individual style of teaching. I found that Alan is an excellent teacher. I would recommend anyone with a desire to learn drumming to check out DrumConnection. I haven't gone to their drum circle yet, but that's the next step for me. I am finishing up my first six weeks of classes, two more classes to go.

 

August 4, 2015

5.0 star rating 8/4/2015 Yelp!

I'm new to the djembe and drum circles in general. The drum circle I attended last week was a blast. Very relaxed and friendly, the drumming was amazing. Alan and Fanta were both very warm and welcoming. As others have noted, great energy. I'm definitely going back.

 

July 6, 2015

5.0 star rating Incredible Drums!

I returned to the store today to purchase my first djembe. Alan was more than helpful. He gave a mini-lesson on the spot so I would know how to evaluate the variety of drums, their tonal differences, etc. He also played several of them for me to have a better impression of what it sounds like once technique is mastered. The drum I finally settled on is incredible, love it. My wife was looking for a bodhran, and he gave demonstrations of those as well!

 

July 8, 2015 

Way better than 5 stars!

Alan clearly loves what he is doing and it shows in the friendly, professional and deeply knowledgeable service. Way better than 5 stars.

 

June 10, 2015

5 Stars!

Alan was so helpful. He came highly recommended, and lived up to it. I got a wonderful drum for my nephew - have not yet given it to him, but he is going to love it.

Enid S.

 

April 8, 2015

Five stars all the way!

Honestly, I can't say enough good things about DrumConnection. Alan and John helped me pick out the perfect drum, and when I came in tonight, Alan talked with me for at least an hour about technique, the history of the djembe coming to America, and more. The place is warm and inviting, and the people who work there are the same. I am confident I chose the best place to start my drumming journey, and I will be back for their classes! Five stars all the way!

Amanda S.

 

 

March 7, 2015

Amazing Store.

My son is now starting drum lessons.  We stopped in to purchase a drum pad and drum sticks.  This is an amazing store.  There is much to learn about choosing an instrument that suits you...and we were encouraged not to rush in and spend a lot of money at this stage.  The store is packed with drums (mostly hand drums) and each visitor is encouraged to try out items that spark their interest.  While visiting, my son tried several thumb pianos as well.

 

March 6, 2015

Smiling!

Fanta lead our group of 21 drummers thru two hours of song, dance, and drumming. Everybody was smiling at the end of the evening. What a deal for 10 bucks! 

Charles D.

February 24, 2015

Fantastic Place

Drum Connection is a fantastic place to take African drumming lessons, meet some wonderful people and really expand your horizons by attending workshops with master drummers from West Africa. It's been a life changing experience for me. I am so blessed to part of Alan and Fanta's community. 

Tom B.

 

February 13, 2015 

Personal Results                         

As always Alan was right there to make sure I got exactly what I was looking for. He even sent me a photo/text to confirm that he had the correct size, shape and sound of rattle I needed. This was that perfect combination of personal service and immediate results.

Tony V. 

 

5.0 star rating 12/6/2015 Yelp!

I took a beginner drum class here this fall. I was impressed by the business's connection to West African drumming. Thierno, a drummer from Guinea, was our teacher. If you want to learn drumming, have a weekly class with lots of laughing and meet people from around the world this place is for you.

S K.

Cambridge, MA

 

5.0 Star Rating 12/4/15 Google+

Alan the owner is always friendly and helpful. When I was looking for a drum, he chose 4 drums he thought I might like, each unique. He helped me sort out the differences to find the combination of pluses that added up to the perfect drum for me.

Alan the teacher is a non-judgmental, supportive, and clear instructor whose decades of experience and amazing skill as a drummer combine to provide a safe and inspiring learning environment. I've studied with four other DrumConnection instructors and each is excellent in his or her own ways, and all certified by examination.

A great store and a wonderful school. I recommend it without reservations.

C. (a current student)

 

5.0 Stars 11/15/2015 Yelp!
The beginner drum class was extra special. Taught by Thierno Keita-what a wonderful escape each week from the work-a-day world into a world of rhythm and movement. Great for the brain and the soul. Alan Tauber, who runs the Drum Connection could not be kinder or more devoted to his art. This has been a postive turn for me and I will continue on this road with pleasure.

C S Lexington, MA

5.0 star rating 11/11/2015 Google+

DrumConnection is an nook of musical magic on Mass Ave in Arlington. The drumming teachers are from Africa, they sponsor workshops and trips to Africa to learn drumming. Alan the owner is very flexible and understanding with scheduling lessons. The drum selection is fantastic!! I recommend it to everyone I know. What a gem!

M. Thompson

 

5.0 star rating 11/9/2015 Yelp!

Broad selection of percussion instruments from all over the world. Alan, the owner, really knows a lot about the instruments and the music they make.

Lane D.

Kingston, MA

 

5.0 star rating 11/7/2015 Yelp!

We have purchased many instruments from Alan.  He knows so much about percussion instruments that we trust him with ordering sight unseen and have been pleased with our purchases.  Prices are very reasonable.  We drive 2 hours each way to shop at the Drum Connection and it is worth it.

Sandra T.

Mashpee, MA

 

5.0 star rating 11/6/2015 Yelp!

You will not find a more beautiful person than Alan to assit you with your journey of learning the drums.   I have traveled with Alan to Guinea, purchased various drums, and attended numerous classes.  Have not been able to find the joy I felt when I was involved with the Drum Connection.   Please open a southern location!

Cheryl S.

Estero, FL

 

5.0 star rating 10/5/2015 Yelp! 

The drum I purchased from Alan several years ago is both beautiful and is a joy to use. The classes are fantastic -- designed for all skills levels and taught by master teachers that are knowledgeable and exciting.

 

They are patient and know how to break rhythms down to bite size. I have enrolled my 4 year old in the children's drum class and it is dynamic -- teaching movement and African songs. She loves it and loves her teachers."

Louis K.

Arlington, MA

 

5.0 star rating 10/19/2015  Yelp! 

Purchased my djembe here a few years ago, just bought new skin, Alan and staff always knowledgeable and helpful. The best! Thanks!

Paul W.

Swampscott, MA

 

5.0 star rating 8/29/2015 Yelp!

I am new to drumming and am having a ball. I went to a Sunday night lecture and lesson on one type of drums and followed that with 2 Sunday night drumming circles with an excellent teacher-but not at the rank beginner level. Still, I loved it and just tried to follow and keep up.

 

Now I am in a beginner class and I am still enjoying every minute. Alan is a kind and welcoming person. He coordinates to bring in a variety of excellent teachers and classes take place most every day of the week. He gives great advice about what to purchase and has rentals available. Come join the fun!

C.S.

Lexington, MA

 

5.0 star rating 8/24/2015 Yelp!

This is a great little shop.  Alan was able to rent me some drums for my autism caregivers retreat and was very accommodating.  The drums were gorgeous, beautiful sound.  Our group had a great time thanks to Drum Connection coming through at the last minute for me.  Thank you!

Tami D.

Corona, CA

 

June 25, 2015

5.0 star rating Excellent Teaching!

This is the first time I took drum lessons. I have taken piano lessons off and on for years. I really enjoy playing the drums. I had two teachers. They both had their individual style of teaching. I found that Alan is an excellent teacher. I would recommend anyone with a desire to learn drumming to check out DrumConnection. I haven't gone to their drum circle yet, but that's the next step for me. I am finishing up my first six weeks of classes, two more classes to go.

 

August 4, 2015

5.0 star rating 8/4/2015 Yelp!

I'm new to the djembe and drum circles in general. The drum circle I attended last week was a blast. Very relaxed and friendly, the drumming was amazing. Alan and Fanta were both very warm and welcoming. As others have noted, great energy. I'm definitely going back.

 

July 6, 2015

5.0 star rating Incredible Drums!

I returned to the store today to purchase my first djembe. Alan was more than helpful. He gave a mini-lesson on the spot so I would know how to evaluate the variety of drums, their tonal differences, etc. He also played several of them for me to have a better impression of what it sounds like once technique is mastered. The drum I finally settled on is incredible, love it. My wife was looking for a bodhran, and he gave demonstrations of those as well!

 

July 8, 2015 

Way better than 5 stars!

Alan clearly loves what he is doing and it shows in the friendly, professional and deeply knowledgeable service. Way better than 5 stars.

 

June 10, 2015

5 Stars!

Alan was so helpful. He came highly recommended, and lived up to it. I got a wonderful drum for my nephew - have not yet given it to him, but he is going to love it.

Enid S.

 

April 8, 2015

Five stars all the way!

Honestly, I can't say enough good things about DrumConnection. Alan and John helped me pick out the perfect drum, and when I came in tonight, Alan talked with me for at least an hour about technique, the history of the djembe coming to America, and more. The place is warm and inviting, and the people who work there are the same. I am confident I chose the best place to start my drumming journey, and I will be back for their classes! Five stars all the way!

Amanda S.

-

March 7, 2015

Amazing Store.

My son is now starting drum lessons.  We stopped in to purchase a drum pad and drum sticks.  This is an amazing store.  There is much to learn about choosing an instrument that suits you...and we were encouraged not to rush in and spend a lot of money at this stage.  The store is packed with drums (mostly hand drums) and each visitor is encouraged to try out items that spark their interest.  While visiting, my son tried several thumb pianos as well.

-

March 6, 2015

Smiling!

Fanta lead our group of 21 drummers thru two hours of song, dance, and drumming. Everybody was smiling at the end of the evening. What a deal for 10 bucks! 

Charles D.

-

February 24, 2015

Fantastic Place

Drum Connection is a fantastic place to take African drumming lessons, meet some wonderful people and really expand your horizons by attending workshops with master drummers from West Africa. It's been a life changing experience for me. I am so blessed to part of Alan and Fanta's community. 

Tom B.

-

February 13, 2015 

Personal Results                         

As always Alan was right there to make sure I got exactly what I was looking for. He even sent me a photo/text to confirm that he had the correct size, shape and sound of rattle I needed. This was that perfect combination of personal service and immediate results.

Tony V.

-

February 5, 2015 

Perfect

Hey just wanted to write you a note to tell you how much I absolutely love the drum! It was the perfect choice for me. The slaps are just incredible and yet it gives good bass response. I brought it to work to play with the children and it was just such the perfect instrument. It’s just the right one for me and I'm really thrilled with it. Thanks so much.

Steve S.

-

January 24, 2015 

Satisfied

Thanks Alan for your undivided attention today as I purchased the replacement head for the djembe I had previously bought at DrumConnection. Could not be more satisfied!

Paul W.

 

2014 REVIEWS AND TESTIMONIALS

 

Dec. 31, 2014

Happy :) 

Amazingly beautiful souls in a space filled with great energy. Sooo looking forward to experiencing and learning more! Thank you :) JoJo

-

Dec. 22, 2014

Great Store

It was a very positive experience at DrumConnection today! Alan was patient and knowledgable. He took time to explain various instruments and demonstrated some. He shared a lot about resources and classes offered at the shop. In the end I feel I came away with a beautiful gift for my son and a small gift for myself to enjoy. I'm looking forward to shopping there again or perhaps even taking ...

Patricia M.

-

Dec. 22, 2014

Great service!

Alan at Drum Connection is always super helpful. I went in this weekend looking for a set of drum brushes, and Alan was right there to give me my different options, try them out on a snare, and provided some great advice. Drum Connection is a fantastic store if you are a novice, or an expert!

Andrew S.

-

Dec. 14, 2014

Great place for all things Drummy!

I bought bongos here and Alan, the owner, was very helpful. I am also considering taking one of their drumming classes, which sound wonderful.

Ann K.

-

Dec. 8, 2014

Drumming workshop

Amazing experience my 16 old had at Drum Connection. This was his first time, everyone was welcoming, the owner is a drummer himself and has a lot of knowledge. The teacher from Africa was patient and led the workshop with ease and a constant smile. Check it out, it will an amazing experience.

Chandrika S.

-

Nov. 16, 2014

Great Quality!

Purchased a goat skin. The skin was very high quality.

Robert B.

-

Nov. 12, 2014

Amazing DrumConnection!

The drum connection provides a wonderful opportunity to learn about the various techniques and styles of West African drumming. The space is very inspiring and inviting. Alan Tauber warmth generosity and welcoming approach as well as all the amazing teachers he has brought to the center certainly helps both beginner and advanced students learn and feel part of a community of drummers.

Tamar N.

-

October 30, 2014

Great Service

My first time dealing with DrumConnection. I was very impressed with the trust and respect they show for their customers. 

Sushil T.

-

Oct. 29, 2014

Awesome!

I hadn't tried this store before because I play a drum *set* and this seemed to be more of a hand drum kind of place. Boy was I wrong! He's got accessories of every type. If you play a drum or drums of ANY type, this is the place. If he doesn't have it, you don't need it (either that or he can order it). He is also very knowledgeable about sticks, heads, brushes, etc, etc, etc.

Michael M.

-

Oct. 14, 2014

Hand drumming for the family!

I am taking this class for the second time with my two sons, ages 14 and 10.5. We are amazed at how meditative and fun it is for us, and it is quite a treat to be able to do something all together. Lillian, our instructor, is full of positive vibes, and she really knows how to make us all feel included and successful!

Alyssa C.

-

Sept. 20, 2014

DrumConnection

DrumConnection is a great place to get connected with traditional drumming. It has traditional drum materials and information as well as classes. And it has a relaxed atmosphere.

Robert B

-

August 12

‘Delightful store’

DrumConnection has every percussion toy you could want, knowledgeable and friendly staff, and a great atmosphere.

Anne G.

-

August 3, 2014

 'Family of drums’

We just had the best experience at DrumConnection. We are new to drumming and needed teaching as much as selling. We found not one, but three perfect drums for our family and are now off on a new adventure. Thank you to Alan for taking time and care to invite us into this world.

Adria G.

-

August 2, 2014

Great experience

The owner stayed open a half hour late for us, gave me technique tips, and led me honestly and wisely to my purchase of a terrific djembe.

Gilda G.

-

July 1, 2014

Delightful

My experience at Drum Connection was delightful... From the phone call I made yesterday to the purchase of today! Very helpful, courteous, calm (!), and knowledgeable!! I will most definitely return for further purchases. Many thanks, DrumConnection!!

Emily

-

June 28, 2014

Informative

Alan was great to talk with about drumming. He has a lot of information when it comes to Djembe and African drumming. I hope I'm able to come back soon.

James A.

-

June 20, 2014

Knowledgeable

Owner knew exactly what I needed even though I wasn't sure. Genuinely knowledgeable and kind.

Caren W. 

-

June 9, 2014

Nice people

I always have a good time went I go into the Drum Connection. Nice people, great vibes. They also have a wide selection of percussion instruments. Talk local and buy local.

Leonard S. 

-

May 10, 2014

Nice people, great quality!

DrumConnection repaired my djembe at a fair price, and I think it sounds great; better than I expected! Very nice, friendly people.

No Name

-

May 2, 2014

Impressive!

A very impressive customer experience. I now feel "connected". Thanks Drum Connection!

Kevin K.

-

April 30, 2014

Fantastic!

I've lived a few miles from this store for over 15 years and barely noticed it. Today I walked in looking for a gift for a friend and discovered an amazing world. The guys who run this place are beyond passionate about drums, drumming, teaching and sharing their love for the music.

 

I wound up spending way over an hour getting schooled on how to hold, how to play, how to listen, the spiritual energy of drumming, the community of the drum circle. This place is one of a kind, there is nothing like it. Go in, and be prepared to spend some time. Thank you, John and Alan!

Joel O.

-

April 23, 2014

Teaching Experience - THE BEST!

Ibrahima Camara is the best teacher I have ever had -- in anything! I have been drumming on and off for about thirty years. Ibrahima has a method of teaching anchored in Senegalese culture.

In teaching drumming he includes not only hand position but the involvement of the arms -- drumming becomes more of a dance of the arm/hand movements.

 

His teaching is accompanied with the exhortation -- "ongoing" -- the encouragement to keep your arm/hand constantly moving and changing position to modify the beat. He has so much energy and is very gentle and generous with his teaching. I feel so privileged to have him as my teacher -- not only about drumming -- but also about living.

Lewis K.

 

February 2, 2014

I went to buy a drum and I was able to take my time and try them and hear Alan play them. He gave me good advice and many different options. Definetely recomend it!!!

Sabrina G.

 

January 4, 2014

Ongoing classes at DrumConnection. I really grow as I attend the classes. I look at the drummer I was a few years ago, and I am thankful for how far these classes have brought me. 

Joel G.

 

December 17, 2013

I was able to take care of many on my Christmas list; hand drums for my kids, lessons for their Dad and a tambourine for me.

Thanks for the help!!

Jennifer a. 

 

December 11, 2013

Everything went really well!

I enjoyed my visit and the store is filled with beautiful percussion instruments.

Louis K.

 

December 6, 2013

This is an interesting shop packed full of drums and drum accessories, some limited art and textiles and jewelry and loaded with passion by the staff. John was a pleasure to talk to and shared his fascinating background in his own training and love of drumming. Very special jewel of a place!

Ramona D.

 

November 30, 2013

Alan at the drum connection made for a great drum buying experience. I told him the sound I was looking for and he quickly began demonstrating several different options he thought would work. I never felt like he was just trying to sell me something. He clearly has good quality instruments at great prices. Will definitely come back here for my next purchase.

Peter C.

 

October 29, 2014

 

I hadn't tried this store before because I play a drum *set* and this seemed to be more of a hand drum kind of place. Boy was I wrong! He's got accessories of every type. If you play a drum or drums of ANY type, this is the place. If he doesn't have it, you don't need it (either that or he can order it). He is also very knowledgeable about sticks, heads, brushes, etc, etc, etc.

Michael N. 

 

August 12, 2014

 

‘Delightful store’

 

DrumConnection has every percussion toy you could want, knowledgeable and friendly staff, and a great atmosphere.

Anne G.

 

August 3, 2014

 

‘Family of drums’

 

We just had the best experience at DrumConnection. We are new to drumming and needed teaching as much as selling. We found not one, but three perfect drums for our family and are now off on a new adventure. Thank you to Alan for taking time and care to invite us into this world.

Adria G.

 

August 2, 2014

 

Great experience

 

The owner stayed open a half hour late for us, gave me technique tips, and led me honestly and wisely to my purchase of a terrific djembe.

Gilda G.

 

July 1, 2014

My experience at Drum Connection was delightful... From the phone call I made yesterday to the purchase of today! Very helpful, courteous, calm (!), and knowledgeable!! I will most definitely return for further purchases. Many thanks, Drum Connection!!

Emily

 

June 28, 2014

Alan was great to talk with about drumming. He has a lot of information when it comes to Djembe and African drumming. I hope I'm able to come back soon.

James A.

 

June 20, 2014

Owner knew exactly what I needed even though I wasn't sure. Genuinely knowledgeable and kind.

Caren W. 

 

June 9, 2014

I always have a good time went I go into the Drum Connection. Nice people, great vibes. They also have a wide selection of percussion instruments. Talk local and buy local.

Leonard S. 

 

May 10, 2014

DrumConnection repaired my djembe at a fair price, and I think it sounds great; better than I expected! Very nice, friendly people.

No Name

 

May 2, 2014

Impressive!

A very impressive customer experience. I now feel "connected". Thanks DrumConnection!

Kevin K.

 

April 30, 2014

Fantastic! I've lived a few miles from this store for over 15 years and barely noticed it. Today I walked in looking for a gift for a friend and discovered an amazing world. The guys who run this place are beyond passionate about drums, drumming, teaching and sharing their love for the music.

 

I wound up spending way over an hour getting schooled on how to hold, how to play, how to listen, the spiritual energy of drumming, the community of the drum circle. This place is one of a kind, there is nothing like it. Go in, and be prepared to spend some time. Thank you, John and Alan!

Joel O.

 

April 23, 2014

Teaching Experience - THE BEST!

Ibrahima Camara is the best teacher I have ever had -- in anything! I have been drumming on and off for about thirty years. Ibrahima has a method of teaching anchored in Senegalese culture. In teaching drumming he includes not only hand position but the involvement of the arms -- drumming becomes more of a dance of the arm/hand movements.

 

His teaching is accompanied with the exhortation -- "ongoing" -- the encouragement to keep your arm/hand constantly moving and changing position to modify the beat. He has so much energy and is very gentle and generous with his teaching. I feel so privileged to have him as my teacher -- not only about drumming -- but also about living.

Lewis K.

 

March 27, 2014

Today I had an experience. I came in to see if there was a foot tambourine to add to our band and left happily having spent over $100 for parts of a foot pedal and real tambourine. Alan is so knowledgable, patient, service oriented and gracious I gladly let the $ on the table and can't wait to use my new prize!

Mitchell N.

 

March 4, 2014

Alan provided my students with a magical drumming experience that was completely accessible to every child. It is very difficult to find activities that bring together all of our students in a meaningful way (we have a wide range of ages, hearing abilities, physical limitations, and developmental delays), but Alan was able to create and facilitate a wonderful drumming workshop. All of the children absolutely loved it!

 

Top Qualities: Great Results, Personable, Creative

Erin B., Music Teacher, Beverly, MA

 

February 2, 2014

I went to buy a drum and I was able to take my time and try them and hear Alan play them. He gave me good advice and many different options. Definetely recomend it!!!

Sabrina G.

 

January 19, 2014

Allen Tauber is COOL.

John G.

 

January 4, 2014

Ongoing classes at DrumConnection. I really grow as I attend the classes. I look at the drummer I was a few years ago, and I am thankful for how far these classes have brought me. 

Joel G.

2013 Reviews and Testimonials

 

December 17, 2013

I was able to take care of many on my Christmas list; hand drums for my kids, lessons for their Dad and a tambourine for me.

Thanks for the help!!

Jennifer a. 

 

December 11, 2013

Everything went well. I enjoyed my visit and the store is filled with beautiful percussion instruments.

Louis K.

 

December 6, 2013

This is an interesting shop packed full of drums and drum accessories, some limited art and textiles and jewelry and loaded with passion by the staff. John was a pleasure to talk to and shared his fascinating background in his own training and love of drumming. Very special jewel of a place!

Ramona D.

 

November 30, 2013

Alan at the drum connection made for a great drum buying experience. I told him the sound I was looking for and he quickly began demonstrating several different option he thought would work. I never felt like he was just trying to sell me something. He clearly has good quality instruments at great prices. Will definitely come back here for my next purchase.

Peter C. 

 

10/25/13

Was an awesome experience, I love hand drumming but really the main reason I came was to relieve stress due to family health situations and the circle definitely met my needs. Alan did a great job leading the circle with the drumming and the short history lessons about drumming and Africa. I will be coming back.

P Meninno

 

10/18/2013

A local merchant who makes good on his word.

F Clouse  

 

10/13/2013

Had a wonderful time. Thanks Fanta for not only sharing your drumming techniques with us but also a bit of your culture. Looking forward to the next drum circle! Karen PS Alan it's always a pleasure when you pop in for a demonstration.

K Herman 

     

10/12/2013

I had a great experience with Alan and John. They were very welcoming and gave great advice. Djembe sounds great with the new skin. Thanks!

D Mason

 

09/26/2013

What a cool shop with lots of percussion instruments from all over the globe. Go check this place out and bang on a drum. It's good therapy.

M Palica 

 

09/26/2013

Alan was most helpful when I bought my son a djembe 11 years ago. The top of the djembe split a few months ago and I was told by an entire group of African drummers at Kripalu that the Drum Connection was the ONLY place to have it repaired. Alan's staff was most helpful when I brought it in and when I picked it up, Alan was amazed to see that I still had his original hand-written receipt. The drum looks and sounds like new! I highly recommend Alan and DrumConnection!

D Goldsmith 

 

09/20/2013

Alan was very helpful, provided me the information I wanted, and I enjoyed my first visit. I look forward to my class next week in Newton. Kathie

K Braman 

 

09/10/2013   

Alan was very informative and helpful, and he made my decision to buy a bodhran at the Drum Connection an easy one. I look forward to stopping in again.

B Redmond

 

08/16/2013

The shop is great! Also took a drum class which was both challenging and very fun. :) Wish I lived closer by to The Drum Connection!

J David  

 

08/10/2013

Lots of fun. Lots of rhythm. Best $10 I've spent in ages.

S Wood


08/10/2013

Small place, but very well stocked with all sorts of neat percussion instruments. Very helpful and friendly staff.

E Francoeur


07/07/2013

I had a delightful experience just picking up my drum. It sounds great, better than it ever has and I played it all afternoon. Thank you Alan.

B Modica

 

6/10/13

I love the Drum Connection. Even though it's small it has amazing djembe and other drums, real and personal connection to what they are doing, to master drummers and craftspeople in Africa, and reaches out to me and others that go there for our insrtruments, for classes, or for fun!

 

6/1/13 

A must-visit place if you have ANY interest in drumming!

S Sydney

 

3/30/2013

I had a great time tonight. That was one of the best drum circles I've been to. Felt pretty authentic African.
Mack

04/30/2013
I was very impressed with the time, knowledge and experience Alan shared with me. If you're interested in drumming, he's your guy!

04/11/2013
I found the staff at DrumConnection to be really knowlegeable and helpful. Both Alan and John went out of their way to supply me with exactly what I needed. That included John searching downstairs for a small item, trying to find me the right size and color drum rope and Alan giving me great reheading advice.
 
I highly recommend DrumConnection Drum Store for hand drums and supplies. Also check their website for upcoming classes and workshops.
S. Seminerio, Melrose MA

04/07/2013
Alan had my drum head replaced in less than a week! It was great to have it back so soon and sounding great!

04/03/2013
Best place in East Coast for drums and instruction!

03/31/2013
I heard about this place for years but didn't get there till today. Quality drums, expert service and selection. This is a gem in Arlington, Mass. I'll be back!

03/30/2013
Lots of help choosing an appropriate drum. I'm not a drum expert, but at least the shop was open to helping drummers of all ages and abilities.

03/19/2013
Exelent, helpful, they have what we need and my daughter enjoys practicing thank and God bless you

03/15/2013
I really appreciate the way Fanta teaches; nice east going manner, patient with mixed abilities yet keeps driving forward..............and, an excellent drummer.
~Gary

2012 Reviews and Testimonials

 

Caroline L. - Milton, MA

 

"I have known Mr. Alan Tauber for over ten years. He is generous with his time & tireless when sharing his musical knowledge - which is extensive. He has a positive, melodious & uplifting way of teaching & can present the most complicated Guinean polyrythmic traditional music in such a clear & precise way that he inspires his students to reach an understanding, not only of the songs themselves, but also the history & context in which they have been played for generations past. His patient, accurate & often humorous teachings enable countless young Americans to keep these rhythms alive for those who are yet to come. He is an outstanding musician & I am honored to have benefited from his interpretations & insight into West African musicianship."

 

Donna B - Franklin, MA

 

I wanted to share this most intense drumming experience ,that came to the Brain Injury Conference last year, and all joined in for an hour of drumming with Alan Tauber!!! This is worth checking out online....

 

Luke Bass - Recording Artist, Musician, Music Engineer

 

Alan and his crew are the best in Boston for African drums and classes. I've studdied with him for about 7 years and I come every week. It's something I look forward to. Get drumming into your life and you won't regret it. Get it here and you'll be hooked!

 

Ray Aucoin - Student, Teacher, Longy School of Music

 

I have been studying/playing African drums for many years, so to find a gem like DrumConnection in Arlington was really great. Alan is extremely knowledgeable about all aspect of West African drumming, music and dancing (through his lovely wife, Fanta). He is also well connected within the global, yet still small, African drumming community so his workshops are always excellent. Alan's selection of drums is equally outstanding and he is willing to procure whatever specialty items you desire. I would highly recommend going down to the shop and seeing what Alan and DrumConnection can offer you.

 

Lynne Eisenberg - Student

 

DrumConnection is THE place for all types of drums, drumming and more. Amazing custom drums directly from Africa, textiles, jewelry, etc. The best West African drumming classes, workshops, and a welcoming community.

 

Christine Bennett - Director - Harvard University Dance Program

 

Alan Tauber is my go-to guy for any and all drumming questions as I work in the performing arts. I have taken his beginning-level class and loved it! I highly recommend the experience of hand drumming for community, skill building and joy. Alan is a true resource for New England - right here in Arlington/Cambridge!

 

Pam Shanley - Arlington Center for The Arts

 

The Drum Connection has a great new store on Mass Ave in Arlington MA where you can find quality instruments at reasonable prices, friendly staff and good hours. When it comes to African drums this is one of the best sources in the country. If you looking for a fun instrument to get someone (young or mature) interested in music, they have something for that category too! Check it out !

 

Brad Braufman - MonkeyBusiness Productions

 

DrumConnection has all the instruments, products and expertise I ever need. Alan helps me tune my drum; drumming helps me tune my soul. Fanga Alafayia, ashé, ashé :)

 

Caroline L.

 

"Alan, you have a wonderfully clear & relaxed way of teaching rhythms which enables one to absorb & retain information can be lost sometimes in the whirlwind of competition."

 

Patricia G.

 

"First of all, I had an *amazing!* experience in Drumming 101! :)  Fanta - you are a beautiful and wonderful teacher!   (And, I'm a teacher, so I recognize good teaching!!)  And altho' I did have to miss a couple of classes and my insane schedule kept me from make-ups, I have no regrets!  I loved every minute and learned so much more than I ever imagined.

You cannot know how much I love this, nor what it means to me. With all the fullness of my heart, I thank you both.  And altho' I will probably have to resign myself to being an occasionally delinquent/sporadic student, I will return, with my exquisite drum. :)  I cannot wait to learn more!  And I will miss you both very much!

 

Keep chair for me. 

Love & Blessings to you both!"

Arthur A.

"I love this drum..."

 

Tom B.

"You are the greatest!   Nancy's class last night was fantastic.  I think all of the students really enjoyed the class. The hand rhythms were great and all of the students playing together was a great experience to see how it can come together and how difficult it can be as well. Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you, Tom.

 

Cheryl B.

"It was an intense & awesome evening. My husband & I have been to a few of John's drum circles & they never disappoint...I'm totally hooked :) Thank you, thank you, thank you to John & his lovely wife (my apologies I can't remember her name atm) it was another memorable evening. I can't wait for the next one. Sorry we had to leave a little early. The spirit of the drum surrounds us!"

 

Arlene L.

Awesome! My son, his friend and I loved it. Mark (my son) said it was his best music night ever!!! ...